Houtou

When we were at Yamanashi, in almost every shop, there would be this noodle stew dish with lots of vegetables inside. While waiting for the bus to bring us back to our hotel, we decided to try it.

yamanashi-noodles

This is called Houtou. The noodles are flat, and it is served in a miso-pork broth, and it is topped with vegetables and some meat. This cost us 930yen. It’s quite expensive, considering that it looks AND tastes like what my mother likes to cook at home on rainy evenings.

So, anyway, there was nothing spectacular about this dish. I’m just writing this to let you know that if you have some money and there’s a lot of food you want to try in Yamanashi, you can spend your money on the other more interesting food you see.

My memories of good food in Yamanashi were mostly Tori Karaage. Haha! It’s not a specialty of that place but I had some of the best fried chicken I’ve ever eaten over there. XD

Leave a comment